Tiny Collections

collections 2It’s no secret I’m a magpie. I think anyone who runs a design blog must be. I see something special, and it speaks to me on a level beyond simple ownership. I love a good story. As such, I have collections of everything. I collect old books, bits of tile, vintage dishes, and most especially, travel mementos. I even have a collection of shoulder pads that I save from thrift store clothing that I’ve altered. I have a dream of displaying them in a gallery, pinned to a huge wall like they’re insects.

I display my very small items in these vintage spice containers, which I found en masse at my local thrift store. The items have to fit through the narrow opening of the jars. It was a challenge to find items that were small enough to fit in the jars but still were eye-catching. Let me take you through my collections.

collections 1From left to right, I have: vintage beads, sea glass that I collected in Positano, Italy, where the beach has as much sea glass as it does sand, sand from the Sahara desert, which is finer than any sand I have ever encountered, seashells from a trip to Atlantic City, New Jersey, and vintage cocktail skewers, purchased at a flea market and still awaiting the day they are upcycled into something fabulous.

What do you collect? How do you display or store it? Share in the comments!

This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tiny Collections

  1. I also have collections of all sorts and accordingly a lot of shelves, boards, vitrines… no jars yet, but the idea is very lovely 🙂

Leave a Reply

