The Perfect Pair of Kitschy Salt and Pepper Shakers

Friends, I have been on a quest.

Four years, endless hours of searching, always searching. For the perfect pair of kitschy salt and pepper shakers. This personal quest has taken me to countless flea markets, thrift stores and garage sales, and I am pleased to announce that yesterday, I ended my epic quest.

I bought these:

salt and peper 2The shakers sit in this plastic piano, and when you press the keys they pop up like toast out of a toaster. I am in rapture. I got them for $5 at a flea market, cool as you please, just sitting there. There was a second set I was so close to buying, which was two tiny vial shakers set in a plastic camel that said “San Francisco 1955.” But the piano won out. It just doesn’t get cheesier than this.

salt and pepper 1

This entry was posted in miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

