3D Printed Cross Stich USB Drive

usb 1I talk a lot about 3D printing on this blog, and I’m long overdue for a bit of an overview for those who may be uninitiated. I’m going to share a bit of the process by taking you through how I made this USB drive. The USB component is store bought, it’s a standard USB drive that I bought and took out of its original casing. It looks like a tiny circuit board with a USB port stuck on the top. The case that I made is printed in ABS plastic, which is very durable and is good for everyday use. I made the case, a cap, and a small washer that fits over the case to sandwich the USB component inside. I wanted to make my drive special so I made a gridded area that I was able to do a little cross stitch in.

The process begins on the computer, in 3D modeling software. The software allows you to create precise 3D models that can be made into real objects by a 3D printer.

Here is what the drive looks like in the software. The green is a model I made of the USB component (based on the measurements of the real one) so I knew how big to make the case. The orange is the case, with a grid for the cross stitch part.

screen shot 1

Once the computer model was made, I sent my file to the 3D printer. The  basic concept of 3D printing is that a printer head (picture what a laser printer looks like with the cover off) moves back and forth across a flat bed, depositing microscopic layers of material with each pass, building your object like a loaf of bread stacked vertically. In this case, the material is the ABS plastic, which comes on a spool. The plastic is heated by the printer and comes out of a nozzle, similar to how a hot glue gun works.

After it was finished printing, I assembled the drive by inserting the circuit board piece into the case, gluing my washer piece on top to keep the circuit board in place, and doing my cross stitch. Here’s the finished piece! It’s 100% useable. And cute.

usb 2

usb 3

This entry was posted in guides, miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 3D Printed Cross Stich USB Drive

  1. polytechnick says:

    Reblogged this on Polytech's WordPress Place and commented:
    Intrigued by multi-color 3D printing? Wait until you see this multi-media 3D printed art(sy) object by Ashley Marcovitz! Sure, you could 3D print jump drive body before. And you could also buy tiny strips of plastic cross-stitch canvas and cobble together a body of a jump drive (copious amounts of hot glue would probably be needed to keep this all together). But 3D print yourself an ABS body that tightly fits over the jump drive electronics and has a built-in 5×6 cross-stitch canvas and you have a unique piece of technology that can be customized after it’s been 3D printed and still looks every bit a professionally made device.

    I also think that the cross-stitch pattern looks like a physical representation of the memory arrays which is what the device is, but that’s probably because I’m a little predisposed towards tech rather than art. Another (also more practical than visual) application for the cross-stitch field might be to encode a simple PIN code or something like that needed to unlock the jump drive content. A 5-bit binary pattern can encode (almost) every letter and digit (or just stick to letters and you can have all 26 of them), and you can have up to 6 symbols encoded. Or flip that and encode 5 symbols with 6-bit pattern – there you can have all letters and digits for sure.

    Great idea and pretty cool looking 3D printed object, Ashley!
    Cheers!

  2. Oh wow this is so cool! I love it!

  3. This is so cool. I love the marriage of technology and needlework! I would love to have access to a 3D printer!

Leave a Reply

